Best hiking boot brand for women with wide feet.

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dom15931

Reaction score
My girlfriend has had a lot of trouble with hiking long distances because of foot pain from boots that do not fit right. Her feet are wide and she has a hard time finding even shoes that fit right. Does anybody have recommendations of quality brands that makes quality "W" sized boots?
Thanks,

Dom

First of all, I'm not a woman, so I have no personal experience. Just wanted to clarify. Secondly, my mom has fairly wide feet as well, and had similar problems several years back. She eventually settled on Asolo, and now loves them. She has three pair of Asolo walking/hiking shoes (not made anymore, or else I'd post a link), and has had no problems. I know that Asolo also has the option of purchasing some of their shoes in Woman's Wide.

Hope that helps.

Unlike ADK88, I am a woman;) I also have very wide feet. In fact, Peter Limmer has told me that mine are the shortest, widest feet he has ever made custom boots for! If you don't want to invest in custom boots, I agree with ADK88 that boots made by Asolo are among those with the widests lasts. I hiked in leather Asolos for many years before I got my Limmers. Another great alternative for wider feet are boots by Hi-Tec. They are generally lightweight and not very expensive. They also tend to run quite wide. I used an old $40 pair of them on my LT hike last year and I was astounded by how well they performed. Hi-Tecs might be the way to go!

I've got wide feet and I've been very happy with all leather LLBean Crestas in the wide width after going through several other brands that either didn't last or never felt right. I'm on my second pair. Each foot is individual and it's a personal thing.

You said boots, but if you'd consider trail runners, New Balance makes some nice ones in D widths.