Better map for Baxter State Park

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TDawg

Reaction score
Hi all,

Looking to upgrade my map of BSP.

I have the paper AMC version but am looking for a waterproof map. A quick google search yields:

1) The Nat Geo map, looks nice and I like my Allagash maps from Nat Geo, this one is a little more expensive.

2) Map Adventures, also looks pretty good but I have zero experience with Map Adventures products.

Anyone have nit-picks with either, or another version I should have on my radar?

Thank you.

I've had the Map Adventures White Mountains map since I started hiking again 2 years ago, it's always proved easy to read, and its held up very well. Had my eye on the Baxter map as well, as I also have only the AMC paper map.

I too have used the Map Adventures White Mountain map as my main in-the-pack map for several years. Just got the Baxter version before going there two weeks ago and it's excellent. Lots of detail, trail segment mileages, etc. I also have the AMC map and the one that came in the latest version of the Katahdin book that I picked up at the visitors center on the way into the park. The Map Adventures version is definitely best of the bunch in my opinion

The new AMC map with the 10 Ed. of the AMC Maine Mountain Guide also comes in a separate Tyvek version, as the AMC has been doing with the White Mtn. Guide for the last 2 Eds. I bought mine at Mountain Wanderer in Lincoln a couple of weeks ago for $10, and a it was all I needed during four days of varied hiking in Baxter last week. The other side is the 100-Mile Wilderness.