Presi Traverse over 3 days

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

debstepin

Reaction score
Hi!
I'm planning on doing a Presidential hiking trip in mid-August over three days. I have hiked in the Whites and have 23 of the 48 4000 footers complete. I'm ready to knock off 8 more, but I also wanted to take in the beauty of the sights as I go. Since most people do the traverse faster, I've had trouble finding answers for my questions, which mostly focus on where to spend the night.

I'm a student, so I can't afford the huts. I have a solo tent and a camping hammock. Which would be better to bring? I know you have to camp below treeline, but can the trees support a hammock? Can you typically find a good spot to use a small tent below treeline? Is there a camping permit I have to get? Are there camping sites available at any of the huts? If so, do they typically fill up fast?

I would be doing two nights out. How is the weather in August?
And, finally is there a trail people would recommend for views, easier travel or anything else?

Thanks!

It depends on where you plan on camping. It's tough to find good spots along the ridge without dropping down so you might want to use the few camping areas available to you. The main one is the tent platforms at the Perch, one of the RMC facilities on the side of Mt Adams. You hike Madison and Adams and drop to the Perch for your first night. A tent would be easier, not sure if there's trees suitable for a hammock there. If you wish to go further your best bet would be to go past Jefferson and drop down the Jewel trail, looking for camping spots below treeline. There are places for a tent although you might have to go a bit further than if you use a hammock. There is a tent site on the Valley Way below Madison Springs Hut, but I'd want to cover more ground before camping on night 1.