Experienced Hiker Looking for a New Mtn Range (i.e. Catskill advice, please)

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blacknblue

Reaction score
Having lived most of my 37 years around the VT/NH border, I've hiked extensively in the Whites and Greens, with a fair amount in the ADKs and Maine (as well as a four-year stint in Colorado). Now I live in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and need some decent mountains closer to home. The Catskills are about four hours away, but I have no experience with them. I just bought the Nat'l Geographic Trails Illustrated map at EMS and have been checking it out. Little help?

I'm planning on taking my first excursion at the end of September. I'll have one full day and one half day to hike. Looking for something in the 12-18 mile range, and another in the 6-8 mile range. Was hoping for hikes in different parts of the area, just for getting to explore more territory. I was looking at Slide-Cornell-Wittenberg (and maybe Panther) for the longer day, and maybe something in the Kaaterskill or Black Dome area for the shorter day.

Any advice about this particular excursion, or about adventuring in the Catskills in general?

In general, Catskill trails are fairly rugged compared to other major ranges in the Northeast. The footing is slippery compared to the ADKs, (the rocks themselves, not any water or mud), and there are limited views. There are 2 4Ks, and 33 other 3500'+ peaks. Some are bushwhacks, and even after hosting thousands of hikers, have few or no established herd paths.

I commented at length on your CWSP plan in the other thread.

The 3 blackheads can be done in a day, being only 7-8 miles, but you have to climb 3 3900' peaks, so the elevation adds up.

You can do Hunter (+Rusk), Leavitt, aka SW Hunter, and add on Westkill if you are still not tired for a big 'loop' from Spruceton, with a very short road walk.