Offshoot of Tucks Crampon & Ice Axe Thread

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BISCUT

Reaction score
I didnt want to blow up Tucks thread. But I was wondering, my belief is the general hike/climb community is a very self reliant one. Maybe I'm wrong. I learned most of what I know from reading plenty of books, and from trying things out. Yet often, in these "modern" times we often refer someone to a pro for lessons even for basic stuff. I miss the young dumb stuff I did (not all of it!!) figuring out these tools and techniques. I can say with certainty, my self taught learning on mts how to push when exhausted, how to accept defeat when ur getting blasted on the alpine garden yet sooo close, and to relish those few winter days we get with incredible summit views, etc... These are life skills that set you apart in your every day life. At least I feel they do. This is part of the love I have for the solo aspect.