Advice on Backcountry Skis

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Raven

Reaction score
Hi Folks.

Looking for and would very much appreciate some advice from the backcountry ski gurus et. al. on the board. I'm looking for specifics as I do not know the product I want but I do know some of the qualities I am looking for. After watching someone spray lovely powder all over the Fire Wardens Trail on Hale yesterday in snow globe conditions, I'm ready to get a pair of these. Here are the details:

-I'm a fairly experienced backcountry traveler but a complete newbie to backcountry skis.
-I skiied downhill regularly for many years and was relatively good at it (not an expert though).
-I have cross country skiied a handful of times (a beginner).

-I want skis that

1. Need little maintenance - I probably won't want to wax anything.
2. Edit: Drop this Requirement
3. Are reasonably affordable
4. Are easy enough to use on hiking trails in the Whites such as that mentioned above.
5. Are easy to adapt for uphill (skins?)
6. Edit: Drop this Requirement
7. Also - I do not want to buy a mediocre pair only to regret not getting good ones the first time.
8. I love second hand gear.

So, what skis do people suggest to meet these requirements?

Also, what questions am I not asking that I should?

Thank you fellow board members!

Last edited:
Most of this is doable - lots of experts here will help.

>2 is a little challenging; there are bindings that work with hiking boots, but most are designed for ski boots.
>4 and 6 run counter to each other just based on ski width. All other things being equal, a wider ski is easier on hiking trails and a narrower ski is easier at groomed and tracked areas.

All the rest can be managed together, with some patient shopping.