Hello from a newbie here, also a question

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redcloud

Reaction score
Hi,
I just signed up here and am having a look around.
I enjoy hiking, among other things. I have done some of the White Mtn. trails in the past. I also like to do trails on Mt. Greylock.
I guess I have read and dreamed more than I actually have done when it come to hiking, but when you have two teenagers at home, the distractions are many.
My most memorable hike was the time I went to the summit of Mt. Lafayette. It was an unforgettable day, for sure.
Anyways, I have a question concerning hiking safety that maybe someone with more experience than me can probably answer.
What is the standard method of self protection in the woods? I am talking about personal safety against a bear, or other animal, and also against someone else that you may encounter in the woods that would not be considered friendly?
I am not into guns, and have no real desire to carry one. I have carried a knife in the past, and someone gave me a thing of pepper spray which I don't have anymore.
Do most hikers carry some form of protection, or am I being too paranoid?
The few times that I have been out alone, I do get that nervous feeling when I realize that I am on my own, and it does take away from the pleasure of the hike.
Thanks for any input, Eric

Best method of self protection is just using your brain and being aware of your surroundings. If hiking on your own gives you a nervous feeling try to go w/ another hiker. More time out here might make that nervous feeling just melt away. Carring a weapon of anykind (gun, knife, spray) will do you no good unless you are trained and practice using them. Hike more, you see there isn't really much to get nervous about out there.

redcloud said:
Hi,
...Do most hikers carry some form of protection, or am I being too paranoid?
No and yes. ;)