Soft Shell Pant Recommendation

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
.... Mammut is another brand I have no experience with and a lot of their stuff on Backcountry.com had no reviews. Is it also a quality brand? Has a lifetime warranty like many other companies.

My experience is they make very good quality stuff. The design is excellent. For example the knees have an articulated shape. They use more robust material in the wear points. I'm tough on gear and the pants I have get my highest reco. Of course my data is old and companies can change with the times. Another thing I liked about them is that they offered long and short inseams for each size which allowed me to get a perfect fit.

Schoeller is the name of a company in Switzerland that makes fabric.
Mammut is also Swiss, which may explain their high use of Schoeller fabric. They market more to the climbing side of things; tend to be pretty carefully tailored (also frequently a little close-fitting), generally high quality, pricey. I think the only Mammut gear I own is a couple of biners and slings...

These do look like pretty nice pants. Are they discontinued? Several sites I went to didn't have and they're $99 off on Patagonia site (not that this is a problem :) ). Also, they look like a baggier fit based on photos. Was looking for a more snug, elastic fit. These seem more hard shell than soft shell. Is that accurate?

They do have a baggy fit for sure, I happen to think they are very comfortable, but they might not have the fit you want. I thought they were considered a soft shell, but these are my only foray into the SS category, so I guess I'm not 100% sure. I'll tell you this, they shuck off snow like crazy and stay dry. I've never had them in rain, other then mist, so I don't know if they rise to hard shell protection in that regards. But I never worry about that in the winter.