PDA

View Full Version : problem with site



coldfeet
04-16-2006, 07:39 PM
Hi guys....it took my about 5 times to get this open...when i check out trip reports I get scrambled words and like secret codes...is it my computer?...sometimes it happens and other times it didn't ...I'll try to say it to show u ..

coldfeet
04-16-2006, 07:47 PM
I'm trying to read the trip report about Graham from yesterday and the screen is blank...it was good before...

NH_Mtn_Hiker
04-16-2006, 08:53 PM
Everything seems ok to me, including the trip report you mentioned.

Gris
04-16-2006, 09:02 PM
yeh teefdloc, ym retupmoc si enif...

lx93
04-16-2006, 09:29 PM
Oye Gris,

No puedo leer lo que escribiste, ?habra algo mal con tu computadora?

coldfeet
04-17-2006, 08:23 AM
Yep, I have a problem...seems like i can't read trip reports and other messages, some messages work and others don't....I did download Adobe Acrobat I think yesterday ...must be a problem on my end... :(

I don't know what to do...maybe trash the Adobe program?..

Chip
04-17-2006, 08:59 AM
If you occasionally set a "System Re-Set Safe Date", or whatever they're called, you could go back to that date. I haven't done this in QUITE a while with my home computer, but I need to. I never think about it when the computer is working fine, but that's when you need set the safe system date.

Jay H
04-17-2006, 09:03 AM
Hey coldfeet, you might want to check out the character set you are using, don't know what web browser you use but there should be some kind of option under "view" or something like that for "character set" or "character encoding" as Firefox uses. It should be set to something like Western (US), or English (US) or something other than Arabic ;)

Something to check anyway...

Jay

Jay H
04-17-2006, 09:09 AM
Some messages work and others don't...

Could this be your character set? You should state what web browser you are using? Netscape, Firefox, IE, Opera?

There should be an option somewhere for it, usually in "view" or something like that for the "character set".

coldfeet
04-19-2006, 08:17 AM
For some reason i tried Microsoft Explorer just now and i can read the sites....Did AOL do something recently and i have a problem?...

MichaelJ
04-19-2006, 11:39 AM
VFTT has given me lots of problems in the past year or so, where it appears that the HTML sent from the server is corrupted, missing bits, or cut off at the end. The net result looks very "messy" onscreen as text overlaps other text, boxes don't get drawn, reply fields are missing, etc.

I always assumed this was something on my end, even though it would happen either from home or at work, because nobody else ever seemed to see it. If other people are seeing it now, then we might want to point some fingers at either the board software or the hosting site.

bobandgeri
04-19-2006, 12:22 PM
Working fine here using Internet Explorer

darren
04-19-2006, 01:38 PM
I have not seen any problems using IE or Firefox. If I get one or two complaints, then the problem is most likely on the far end. If the problem is on my server, I get TONS of complaints. I haven't goten tons of complaints lately so I believe any problems a few of you are having are on your end. My $0.02

- darren

Jay H
04-19-2006, 01:58 PM
Folks, Coldfeet emailed me what he sometimes sees. I agree with Darren, et al, that this is something on David's end. What I see looks like the underlying Vbulletin code as looking at it, I see mailto tags, Jelsoft references and underlying code. I replyed and asked him if it happens consistently if he reloads the page or just occasionally and more importantly, what browser/OS he is using. Haven't gotten a reply but it looks like it's just a problem on his end, perhaps a connection problem... He did mention he is on *OL. which could explain a lot of things!

Jay

coldfeet
04-19-2006, 02:36 PM
Jay, I'm using Firefox that u mentioned...thx...
Darren, it's pretty weird that i can view some threads but not all of them...maybe I'll call aol...what do u think?..David

MichaelJ
04-19-2006, 03:18 PM
Can someone email me that screenshot of what David sees? If I can get one of what I get I'll post it as well.

I've seen it with Firefox on Linux at work, Firefox on Mac at work, Safari on Mac at work, and Safari on Mac at home.

Jay H
04-20-2006, 06:28 AM
MichaelJ, haven't seen it as a Firefox user myself but I have a T1 line at work and a good dialup service at home. I suspect it's just David's AOL connection. I know sometimes if the browser's transfer of web data gets corrupted, you can get garbled crap.

David, does it happen if you reload, i.e. do you get consistent garbage or does it clear up after a reload? I asked you this via email, to no response.

Jay

darren
04-20-2006, 06:58 AM
AOL ??????????? MAC ??????????????

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

UGH!

You guys are on your own!!!!!


- darren

:p

NumNum
04-20-2006, 07:57 AM
Hi guys....it took my about 5 times to get this open...when i check out trip reports I get scrambled words and like secret codes...is it my computer?...sometimes it happens and other times it didn't ...I'll try to say it to show u ..

Coldfeet do you have the problem at other web boards?

Try doing a disk clean up to get rid of older cookies, restore your browser to default settings, and make sure the setting in the browser looks for newer pages.

Everyone i know who uses @ol has troubles, sorry.

MichaelJ
04-20-2006, 12:24 PM
Here we go - I was able to reproduce the problem. This is the Platte Clove Road thread, and Tom Rankin's was the first on the page but there are many more that don't show up; basically a whole part of the page is just plain missing in the middle, and it shows up with a few visual artifacts in this case.

(dangit - I lost the window where I'd saved the source ... phooey!)

coldfeet
04-21-2006, 06:48 AM
Hi guys, sorry but I locked my office door to keep my kids OFF the computer so they go out and play and I misplaced the key until now...duh...I never really learned about refreshing the computer but the other day i did do a check dsk....maybe something went wrong there....sorry to say but I don't spend to much time learning about computer stuff and the in's and out's of it....for now I'll use the firebox...I always wanted to get rid of AOL..just thought it was a pain to start a new e mail address....MichaelJ...I'll try to send u a copy of that picture, just send me your e mail through a PM.....by the way..wasn't it a beautiful week....

darren
04-21-2006, 12:10 PM
Seriously, I know that AOL causes a lot of problems and certainly not just with my site. I'm not a fan of AOl in the least, and that is keeping it mild.

- darren

MichaelJ
04-21-2006, 12:24 PM
Oh, David's could certainly be AOL, but I guarantee you I've never touched it.
:)

However, if it's something in MacOS I'd be really bummed...

Dang ... it might be something completely different ... the source actually looks fine, even though I just had a completely mangled screen:


<!-- message -->
<div>Oh, David's could certainly be AOL, but I guarantee you I've never touched it.<br />
<img src="images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="smile" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
However, if it's something in MacOS I'd be really bummed...</div>
<!-- / message -->




<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
{MichaelJ}<br />

</div>
<!-- / sig -->



Maybe it *IS* me ... but on different web browsers? Weird...

Maddy
04-29-2006, 04:06 PM
Michael
I have an IMAC power G with Earthlink and I use SAFARI. I had a brief spell a while back when I was using IE and started to have trouble mostly with a very messy home page and could not get weather.com.
I went to the IMAC store in Northampton and was told to get rid of IE and use SAFARI. Have had not problems since.
I also do not like AOL and had problems on my old IMAC with them.
Tech support helped me to resolve a few problems that I had when I first went to SAFARI. Just minor stuff that needed to be changed in my system.
The guy at the Apple store strongly encouraged me to not use IE. He commented that there was some ongoing issue with them "supporting" IMAC. I asked the other tech on line about it but he did not seem to know anything relating to this. Good luck.

Warren
04-30-2006, 08:07 AM
Mac OS X , Safari

I've gotten some bizarre screen draws in the past year. Doesn't happen often and I havent tracked it down though I assumed it was a webcore flaw (the software that safari uses to display a web page) or it being particular about the forums HTML. If the pages display correctly in IE, it's likely a webcore problem. Firefox, I think Opera, as well as IE do not use webkit they shouldn't have any problems.

I think this showed up after using Safari 2.0 for me.

Next time I come across it, I'll try and run the html through a validator, if it passes I think I can subbmit a bug report on it.

Warren
04-30-2006, 08:18 AM
Ah, this thread displays oddly (halfway down page, see attached screen shot):

http://www.vftt.org/forums/showthread.php?p=138421#post138421

Running the page through validator.w3.org shows three html errors on that page. Anyone who is better than me at HTML care to comment if those errors can have anything to do with the display issue?

MichaelJ
05-01-2006, 08:59 PM
I've seen that exact drawing error, Warren. Must be Safari. I'd swear I'd seen it with Firefox on the Mac, as well as on Linux, but maybe I'm mistaken...