PDA

View Full Version : GPS co-oridinates



Gremlin
02-07-2017, 11:05 AM
Could someone be kind enough to tell me the GPS co-ordinates of Times Square, Couchsascraga and Santanoni?

Thanks,

Doug

nartreb
02-07-2017, 02:26 PM
That's what maps are for.
http://caltopo.com/map.html#ll=44.0815,-74.14161&z=14&b=t

<rant> They're not "GPS coordinates", they're latitude and longitude. GPS is a bunch of satellites using carefully timed radio signals, and it's just one of a few systems of its type. Latitude and Longitude have been in use for hundreds of years.
</rant>

Nessmuk
02-07-2017, 05:26 PM
I was tempted to post an almost identical rant to what nartreb just said, thank you. Learn how navigation works and be safe.

By the way, UTM and USNG are becoming the standard formats for national and state professional organizations including SAR teams who are interested in precise land navigation

Peakbagr
02-07-2017, 10:15 PM
Though I strongly agree with hikers knowing how to navigate, it's too bad the replies came across as scolding the OP for asking a question.

Trail Boss
02-08-2017, 09:30 AM
Could someone be kind enough to tell me the GPS co-ordinates of Times Square, Couchsascraga and Santanoni?

Doug,

For future reference, you can calculate an estimate of any route's distance, and ascent, using http://Caltopo.com.

Select the "TF Outdoors" layer.
​Adjust the map to display an overview of your route.
In the left-hand menu, select "Add New Object > Add Line".
​Ensure "Snap to:" is set to "OSM".
​Trace the route you plan to hike. The line will snap to the trails (sometimes imperfectly).
​Double-click to end the route.
​The (unnamed) route will appear in the left-hand menu.
​Click the tiny "graph icon" to display the distance and ascent.
Click "Expand" to display a larger view of the results.


If the drawn route is imperfect, you can edit it. To edit a route, click its "pencil icon" in the left hand menu. Proceed to drag and drop a routepoint to a new location or right-click it to get a menu of options. If you've used Garmin's Basecamp, or other mapping software, you'll feel comfortable using Caltopo.

After you're drawn the route, you can "Print" the map to get a PDF or JPG file. You can also use "Export > Download as GPX file" to download it for use with a GPS receiver. You can also "Share" the map with other people (like members of your group) like this: http://caltopo.com/m/N24K. However, you first have to create a free account in order to save your map before you can share it.

According to Caltopo, starting from the Bradley Pond (Santanoni) trailhead, a loop of Panther, Couchsachraga, and Santanoni is approximately 11.5 miles in length with an ascent of approximately 4400 feet.

Good luck!
Taras

Gremlin
02-08-2017, 10:28 AM
In the hope that some-one down there speaks English please note that any plot of two or more axes is expressed in co-ordinates. They can be map co-ordinates or GPS co-ordinates.

Try taking an English course; you may have to leave your country to do so.

DougPaul
02-08-2017, 03:07 PM
More important is that one understands a bit about cartography and GPSes...

Strictly speaking, GPS coordinates are used in GPSes and map coordinates are used on maps. Both maps and GPSes have limited resolution and contain errors, so the GPS coordinates and map coordinates for the same point on the earth may differ (hopefully by only a small amount). Non-strict usage may confuse the two.

Internally, a GPS uses decimal-degree latitude-longitude and the WGS84 Datum. (The GPS Exchange Format used in GPX files also uses the same.) External representations in other datums and formats is done by conversion on input and output.

Map coordinates, of course, are taken off maps. Maps come in a variety of datums and coordinate formats. One often needs to convert the datum and/or format to compare two locations or to transfer a location. (There are formulas and programs for conversion.)


I generally use http://mapper.acme.com obtain coordinates for use in a GPS. The website has road maps, satellite images, topos, and nexrad images. The WGS84 coodinates of the center cross-hairs are shown in the legend and the format is user settable (default decimal degrees).

See, for instance:
http://mapper.acme.com/?ll=44.09542,-74.15999&z=15&t=T&marker0=42.42073%2C-71.39116%2C1.7%20km%20NE%20of%20North%20Sudbury%20 MA
http://mapper.acme.com/?ll=44.08229,-74.13106&z=15&t=T&marker0=42.42073%2C-71.39116%2C1.7%20km%20NE%20of%20North%20Sudbury%20 MA

Doug

TCD
02-08-2017, 04:18 PM
Rough location of Times Square:

http://www.adirondackrock.com/map.htm?lat=44.095373531613916&lng=-74.13405212709976

(This is a Caltopo map at the AdirondackRock site.)

(I go to the AdirondackRock site because the native Caltopo and Acme sites don't load for me most of the time. I run IE, and about 90% of the time when I try to go to Caltopo or Acme, I get an advertisement for Chrome, rather than a map...)

DougPaul
02-08-2017, 06:27 PM
Rough location of Times Square:

http://www.adirondackrock.com/map.htm?lat=44.095373531613916&lng=-74.13405212709976

(This is a Caltopo map at the AdirondackRock site.)

(I go to the AdirondackRock site because the native Caltopo and Acme sites don't load for me most of the time. I run IE, and about 90% of the time when I try to go to Caltopo or Acme, I get an advertisement for Chrome, rather than a map...)
This one doesn't load for me on first try (firefox on linux), but it did work after I turned some security measures off...

FWIW, one can often extract the lat-lon out of the non-working url and insert them into a different map viewer or the url pointing to another map viewer. For instance, the above lat-lon inserted into an acme url: http://mapper.acme.com/?ll=44.09537,-74.13405&z=15&t=T

(One way of viewing a url in a posting is to hit the reply button and view the text of the posting. Just don't submit the reply...)

Doug

Trail Boss
02-08-2017, 08:57 PM
You can also describe a location on the earth using What3Words (http://what3words.com/). :)

Times Square = ready.expectant.circulated (https://map.what3words.com/ready.expectant.circulated)
Couchsachraga = motorbike.badminton.exhibitors (https://map.what3words.com/motorbike.badminton.exhibitors)
Panther = opting.loosely.shook (https://map.what3words.com/opting.loosely.shook)
Santanoni = observation.shadows.mammals (https://map.what3words.com/observation.shadows.mammals)

TCD
02-08-2017, 09:13 PM
That one does not open for me in IE - I get a blank screen with some kind of tear drop shaped thing in the middle of it. But it seems kind of weird; maybe it's for the best that it doesn't open... :)

iAmKrzys
02-08-2017, 09:51 PM
Peakbagger.com has a very comprehensive database of peaks around the world, but you better have the spelling right or you won't find it. For example, for Couchsachraga here is a detailed peakbagger.com page:

http://www.peakbagger.com/peak.aspx?pid=6007

In fact for many peaks you can get their location on Wikipedia as well: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Couchsachraga_Peak

For my personal use I actually adopted one of the many OpenLayers cool examples (see http://openlayers.org/en/latest/examples/ ); I think I started with this one: http://openlayers.org/en/latest/examples/mouse-position.html (possibly combined with others) and I customized it to display coordinates in ddd mm.mmm format that is understood by my car gps and I use it mostly to quickly get parking coordinates for my trips. I click on the map, copy coordinates to e-mail and when I get into the car I retype coordinates from e-mail into my car gps. This works for every location I want to go, no street address necessary. Here is how my map looks like:

5774

Trail Boss
02-08-2017, 10:13 PM
That one does not open for me in IE - I get a blank screen with some kind of tear drop shaped thing in the middle of it. But it seems kind of weird; maybe it's for the best that it doesn't open... :)
Do you see a list of map names along the upper left? Select "MapBox" or "OpenStreetMap". The default map is a road-map and doesn't show any details in the Santanonis.

If nothing works then ... well ... Internet Explorer is getting long in the tooth.

DougPaul
02-08-2017, 10:43 PM
That one does not open for me in IE - I get a blank screen with some kind of tear drop shaped thing in the middle of it. But it seems kind of weird; maybe it's for the best that it doesn't open... :)
OK. Sometimes a browser may not support required features or security settings may block a website. Or an old version may also not support needed features (and will likely have security holes).

This is why I suggested that one may be able to transfer the coordinates from a url to a url for a different website.

I used to keep several browsers on my machine, but now pretty much everything I need works with firefox. (I do have multiple firefox profiles with varying levels of security and only use the less protected profiles when needed on trusted websites.) You can probably install it on your machine if you wish: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/ (I keep mine updated to the latest version to have the latest security patches.)

Doug