Opinion on what made these scratches?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jim lombard

Reaction score
On Poison Ivy's 81st up Sandwich Dome last Saturday she saw several trees that had been ripped up pretty badly. We both took pictures.

I have my opinion on what animal caused these scratches, what do you think?

Scrape went as high up as 6-7 feet up these trees and down near the bottoms.

sandwichmoose.jpg

Sir Hikesalot said:
Black bear!

Maybe, but the tree I saw the weekend before on Tecumseh had vertical scratches, reaching 7 feet up the tree and stopping about 2 feet from the ground. These scratches almost went horizontal. Still could be a black bear, I'm no expert.

I would say moose.

"Moose also leave their marks, scraping bark off trees with their lower teeth and rubbing their antlers against trees to remove the antler velvet."

percious said:
My guess is a moose, stripping the bark off to eat it. I have seen similar in the Willey range before.

-percious

It could be, there were about 5 trees that were stripped like this, they were either spruce or fir. My guess was the moose was scraping the velvet off it's antlers?

Lack of scale in the photo makes guessing more difficult, but it appears -- by their breadth and orientation -- that the marks are more like those made by teeth than claws. Not being familiar with the particular area in terms of elevation, terrain, forest cover, etc., my first guess would be porcupine.

G.

el-bagr said:
Bear biologist Lynn Rogers has a great site that shows good photos of various bear sign.

http://www.bear.org/Black/Sign/Bear_Sign.html

This guy knows his stuff.

I am learning my stuff, but I'd bet good money on a porcupine.
http://www.bearcamptrackers.org/050109d.html

Quote Grumpy.