What animal made these tracks?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hard to see those tracks very clearly, and I'm a novice tracker. They don't look feline. Toe pads are too long. I'd guess canine--dog, fox, coyote? Were there other tracks nearby? Hare, rodents, etc? Was it brushy along the trail? Open? Hard wood, soft wood, etc? I don't remember the beginning of n. Imp.

Waumbek said:
. They don't look feline. Toe pads are too long. I'd guess canine--dog, fox, coyote?
That was my thought, too. Canine if claws are visible. I can't see it clear enough, but fisher, martin and mink look like that but have 5 toes.

I'm gonna agree with Chip.
It's a little hard to see, but it looks like 5 longer toes. I'd say fisher or marten as well.

Here is another picture if it helps at all:
Tracks here

The trail was pretty open... not much brush (visible in the snow at least) in that area at all. The tracks went up the trail a bit then wandered over into the woods, later recrossing the trail and heading toward the brook. There were shrew tracks also in that general vicinity.

- Ivy

From PI's photo I'd say they're too large to be fox, too large and not quite the right shape for coyote, I'm gonna stick with fisher.

poison ivy said:
Here is another picture if it helps at all:
Tracks here

The trail was pretty open... not much brush (visible in the snow at least) in that area at all. The tracks went up the trail a bit then wandered over into the woods, later recrossing the trail and heading toward the brook. There were shrew tracks also in that general vicinity.

- Ivy
I still think it's a fisher, or something in that family. I think this is an example of what NH Mtn Hiker referred to with not being able to see the 5th pinky toe.