Alternatives to ADK High Peaks 5/26

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

4check

Reaction score
OK, I'm starting to get nervous about parking for my intended Big Slide hike this Friday. Thought I would be ok the day before the "real" weekend (I'm still learning). Suggestions for somewhere with less traffic/better parking? I had hoped to do something around 10 miles that is pretty well marked as I will be hiking solo. Fitness-wise, I have done Giant Mtn. solo in pretty high heat and humidity. I immediately thought of the Pharaoh Mtn. area and Tongue Mtn loop, but would welcome all suggestions. I will be coming from the Capital Region but can't leave until about 7:30am.

Thanks in advance.

4check said:
OK, I'm starting to get nervous about parking for my intended Big Slide hike this Friday. Thought I would be ok the day before the "real" weekend (I'm still learning). Suggestions for somewhere with less traffic/better parking? I had hoped to do something around 10 miles that is pretty well marked as I will be hiking solo. Fitness-wise, I have done Giant Mtn. solo in pretty high heat and humidity. I immediately thought of the Pharaoh Mtn. area and Tongue Mtn loop, but would welcome all suggestions. I will be coming from the Capital Region but can't leave until about 7:30am.

Thanks in advance.

If you are planning Big Slide from the Garden and the parking lot is full there is always the shuttle that leaves from the airport parking lot in Keene Valley. I have not seen the shuttle schedule but I am sure somebody that post here may have. The garden lot is small but early Friday you may score a spot. The lot at the Ausable club is a possibility for Friday Morning offering access to a lot of the peaks.