Define crampon and snowshoe guidelines

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ski_adk

Reaction score
While I've done a bit of summer hikes in the ADK's, I'm new to the winter experience. I keep seeing requirements for crampons and snowshoes and was wondering for clarity and safety's sake, just what that meant. I have a pair of snowshoes with crampons on the base (at least that's what the manual tells me). They basically just look like some jagged teeth under the boot's sole plate. Is this acceptable for conditions that require "crampons" or do I need to get a pair of serious, over the boot crampons? Thanks for the help!

ski_adk,
Snowshoes or skis are required on all Adirondack trails when there is 8” of snow or more on the trail. The necessity for crampons (over the boot) depends on the type of hikes you are planning on doing. If you are planning on doing mostly flatter hikes, you won’t need crampons. Crampons become necessary on icy inclined conditions (general area’s with open rock). I just started winter hiking last year, so I sure there are quite a few others more knowledgeable than myself.

Enjoy you future winter hiking.

Last edited:
Thanks!

I didn't think they would be very helpful on an icy ascent. There are some inclines along the trails (i.e. Phelps, Chimney Mtn, Snowy Mtn) that are slick enough in the summer rain, let alone winter ice.

Since we're on the subject then, if I were to get the ascent bug, do you know of any links that will help me figure out exactly what gear I should need. For instance, are my insulalated winter day hikers (LL Bean) gonna be enough, or should I look for something more heavy duty? This is very new to me, so thanks for any info you can share!

- Rob

Further info

Along with ski_adk's questions. Are leather or gore-tex hiking boots adequate fro these winter peaks, or should you have plastic mountaineering boots with crampons?