Winter hiking question

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redcloud

Reaction score
Hi, people
I have been thinking about maybe trying some winter hiking this season, something that I have never done before.
Aside from the obvious cold weather stuff, are crampons the usual add-on for your boots? Is the idea of the crampon to only use them in a slippery situation and be able to add and remove them as needed? Are snowshoes more useful than crampons?
I have a nice pair of Asolo hiking boots that I will use. Can anyone tell me what to look for in a crampon, and what brand?
I am only a casual hiker. But, I would like to extend my season and give the winter season a try.
Thanks for any help, Eric

redcloud said:
Hi, people
I have been thinking about maybe trying some winter hiking this season, something that I have never done before.
Aside from the obvious cold weather stuff, are crampons the usual add-on for your boots? Is the idea of the crampon to only use them in a slippery situation and be able to add and remove them as needed? Are snowshoes more useful than crampons?
I have a nice pair of Asolo hiking boots that I will use. Can anyone tell me what to look for in a crampon, and what brand?
I am only a casual hiker. But, I would like to extend my season and give the winter season a try.
Thanks for any help, Eric
It depends on where you are going. A lot of hiking in the Catskills and ADKs can be done only with snowshoes. Today's snowshoes have very good built in crampons. Standalone crampons are definitely useful, but only in places where there is a LOT of ice. This can occur in very steep places, or above tree line.

On many hikes, I bring both, because I never know what to expect.