backcountry skiing gear

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zer0-G

Reaction score
Hi Friends,

Being that I am, unfortunately, out of action (hiking/skiing/backpacking) for the next 5 months due to shoulder surgery, I figured I would get a jump on next winter by doing some advanced planning and research.

This winter I had planned on doing some x-country skiing in the Daks as an alternative to Snowshoes. I thought it might be fun.

Now, I have plenty of time on my hands to get things together for next winter.

I have done some x-country skiing and consider myself at a little past beginner stage. I have a few years of downhill experience. Blues and blacks with some black and blues (and a shoulder injury) to bear testament.

I would like to acquire some cross country skiis. I am totally ignorant as far as knowing what to look for.

i.e. brand, type, length

Obviously, I would like to use them with backpacking/peak bagging/day tripping in mind.

So, is there any useful information anyone can spare?

Brother, can you spare a mind?

I can see there is a lot of gear for different purposes for skiing. Just like everything else. I shouldn't be surprised.

I am not inclined to presume I am experienced enough to to do anything extremely technical. I definately won't go swooshing through trees or flying off cliffs, at least not intentionally.

I was thinking, for example, in the Daks, a long approach like the one to Allen, or the Sewards and beyond, Santanoni's where it is a fairly flat long approach where I could ski in, dismount and grab a peak or two then ski out.

Initially, something easier and something to build up some experience and confidence. Then after that I could challenge myself slowly, a bit more.

Thanks in advance,

Zer0-G

To answer wtih a very broad brush...