Stabilicers?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amigo

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm relatively new to mountain hiking in winter (not other seasons). I climbed Algonquin in the ADKs several winters ago with snowshoes and they did the trick as there was lots of snow then.

I'm considering going to the ADK high peaks next weekend and, although I think there isn't much snow (yet!), I suspect I should at least be prepared for some ice.

I was reading up on crampons but just read about stabilicers - didn't even know these things existed. Anyone care to tell me whether I should be prepared with crampons or will these suffice? Not sure what we'll be climbing yet. Of course, if it snows alot by then, then I suspect snowshoes would be good enough.

Thanks.

Hola Amigo
I have both crampons and stabilicers. I have yet to gain alot of experience with them, but I'm planning to use my Stablicers for trails with just a bit of ice here and there and the crampons when there is lots of ice. I will be carrying both in my winter pack this winter.

FWIW, I bought my crampons used from EMS, they rent crampons for something like $15 bucks a weekend, and sell them at seasons' end. I got a pair of Black Diamond ten pin crampons for $35.

I'm glad you posted this because I am interested in learning more about them, too.

Sabrina

I recently tried Stabilicers for the first time and I'm hooked. They are boot soles with seventeen sharp studs that velcro over the soles of your boots.

Mine are size S and weigh one pound, six ounces. They fit my size 8 women's Baxter State Bean boots (monster boots) perfectly and appear to fit my size 9 Merrill Torres with the front toe velcro slid through the second loop. (Look at the velcro strip that ends at your toe and you will see two loops that you can thread the crosswise velcro strip through.)