One Day Winter Presidential Traverse

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jkrew81

Reaction score
Hello,
From fly fishing to mountaineering. As you can see my posts are all over the place. I have plans for a winter prezzie traverse this year and have planned on doing it in 2 days. I have been training very solidly for the past 6 months so I know my body is ready for it. When posting on another site someone brought up the idea that a one day push from Dodge Camp to Crawford has been done in 24 hours numerous times and is not only in the realm of crazy people. Anyone know of anyone whom has ever done a 1 day winter Prezzie Traverse? Can you please share the experience? Thanks

it's not nearly as hard as people think it is. on a day with good weather, it may actually be easier than doing it in the summer because the snow flattens the trail out where there would usually be rocks. of course, on a bad day you may very well die. just chose the day carefully, and know where you could escape to. if you haven't been up there in the summer, i would think about doing this hike with someone who's been there before just because it can be easy to get disoriented when you're surrounded by snow and rime covered rocks. you should have a plan to get back to your car at the end of the day, and do not carry too much useless rubbish. just be careful, keep moving, and know where to go in case the weather turns.

It can be easier or harder than summer depending on weather and snow conditions. Escape routes are likely to be harder. Routefinding can be easy or hard...

I'm sure it has been done.

Doug