Mt. Garfield via Garfield Trail - advice needed

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dgkula

Reaction score
Two questions please:

1. Anyone know conditions of Garfield Trail?

2. Thinking of doing this on backcountry skis (brand spankin' new metal edge Fischer Europa 109 skis with Volle 3-pin bindings and Karhu Convert boots) and I have no telemark experience but should be able to pull off a snowplow as I am decent apline skier. Goodman's book mentions that this trip is of "moderate" difficulty but my AMC "Winter Trails" map rates it as "most difficult". Will I survive on BC skis?

Thanks for your advice.

David

There have been no recent trip reports on the Mt. Garfield Trail, but there has been intermittent snow for the past couple of weeks with no warm weather to melt it, so I would expect moderate cover at least. In Thornton (elevation 680 feet) we had about three inches between last night and this morning.

Of course, if someone posts actual conditions that will be better.

I am not a skier, but (with the exception of the last 0.2 miles on the Garfield Ridge Trail) it is a gentle trail.