Summer sleeping bag

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

dvbl

Looking at the Big Agnes Nugget 45F sleeping bag. Man, this thing is a pancake. Only has 6oz of insulation. I know these sleeping bags have no insulation on the bottom, sleeve for the pad, little bit wider, etc. But it still seems paper-thin. Anyone have any experience with this bag? Opinions on this or other 40F or 45F bags? Thanks. big agnes nugget 45

dvbl said:
Looking at the Big Agnes Nugget 45F sleeping bag. Man, this thing is a pancake. Only has 6oz of insulation. I know these sleeping bags have no insulation on the bottom, sleeve for the pad, little bit wider, etc. But it still seems paper-thin. Anyone have any experience with this bag? Opinions on this or other 40F or 45F bags? Thanks. big agnes nugget 45
I have a BA Lost Dog 50 degree summer bag. As long as I take it out in reasonable seasons I've never been cold. Actually I rarely zip it up and so it performs more like a quilt. A lightweight liner (I use silk) helps a lot to give you variable covering options. I sleep in a hammock, so bottom insulation is more important in this case. A hammock or small tent traps a lot of warm air over you, in spite of it being mostly netting above.

Consider what you sleep under at home in bed on a cool summer night with the windows open and you'll realize you don't need much of a quilt. Any extra clothing you bring in your pack can always be brought into service if absolutely needed.

I have a Western Mountaineering Iroquios. It's rated to 35F, with a spec of 3" loft but I measure it at 4-5". It weighs 1.5 pounds, is made of regular (not light duty) material and has a full length zipper so I can open it as needed to regulate temperature. It's a little warm, but I wanted something good to 40.
Oh, by the way, it's discontinnued - they replaced it with a 3/4 length zip, 1lb, light material bag. :rolleyes: