Presi's This Summer

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrOysterhead

Reaction score
I'm thinking about heading up to the Whites this summer and would like to spend 3 or 4 days in the Presidential Range. I've never been hiking in NH much less the Whites, but I've got a lot of experience in the Adirondacks (about half the High Peaks and a handful of slide climbs). The most I would want to do in a day would be about 10-15 miles with full packs.

peace,
Oysterhead

Hi MrOysterhead,
Are you looking for a 3-4 day backpack route? It's not clear from your post but that's what "full pack" sounds like to me. Do you need to end up where you started or can you car-spot or are willing to use the AMC's hiker shuttle ($8.00 per trip I think)?
-vegematic

sorry for not being so clear (hey - I didn't even know there was a shuttle - guess the Adirondacks have spoiled me). Yep - backpacking is what I'm after and I'd be more then willing to spot money to take the shuttle.

Kevin - I have a copy of the guide book - just looking for suggestions on where to take it :)

peace,
Oysterhead

One of the classic backpacks is the Pemi Loop, and if you are willing to do 10-15 miles a day you can easily do it in 3-4 days and no shuttle is required.

Day 1.
Start at the Wilderness Trail, take that to the Osseo up to Mt Flume, across to Liberty and spend the night at Liberty Springs tent platforms.

Day 2.
Head across the open Franconia Ridge to the Garfield tentsites.

Day 3.
Head to Galehead, S. Twin (could even go out of your way to do N. Twin), over to Guyot and to the Guyot Shelter or tent platforms.

Day 4.
W. Bond, Bond, Bondcliff and back out the Wilderness Trail to where you started.

If you are in excellent shape and want to do about 15 miles on the 1st day, you could always skip staying at Liberty Springs and head all the way to Garfield (tough day though!)