Backpacker Mag

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

torn&frayed

Reaction score
Did anyone notice in a recent issue of Backpacker, they named Baxter's Chimney Pond as one of America's best "swimming holes"?

Hmmmm. I wonder what the rangers think of that.

Should I add a snorkel to my hiking gear?

I always felt that BACKPACKER never really wanted to reveal any of the good secrets for fear of crowding some of the last "great places".

The list of "sweetest swimming" holes was total junk. Look for their apology for mentioning Chimney Pond in the next issue ;)

Jon Dorn, the editor of Backpacker, is a member of VFTT and has responded to posts here before.

From my dealings with the magazine as a photographer, my impression is that they do a very good job of trying to be environmentally responsible in their coverage, but mistakes do happen. Photographers who submit materials also have to make sure they act in an environmentally responsible manner when they are out shooting for the magazine, and resist the temptation to break the rules in order to get "the killer shot".

Also, I imagine it's a tough balancing act trying to feature "new" places without spoiling the "secret" ones, while attempting to satisfy the broad range of backcountry users that read their magazine.

The problem with Backpacker in the last few years is, they make way to many mistakes, to me that shows, lack of proper homework or just lack of knowledge in general. The 2 areas Im familier with CO and NH are many times peppered with mistakes, like saying Tucks is the standard route up Washington in the winter, thats not only wrong but dangerous.