Compass Help

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chinooktrail

Reaction score
Ok, in the last few years I have gone through 2 compasses. I have no idea why, but they both did the same thing. First they got a very large air bubble in them, and then they would freeze when I was hiking.

The first one was a Silva Ranger, the one I have now is a Suunto MC-2.

What am I doing wrong, and what compass should I purchase?

It is pretty frustrating to try to learn a new skill with equipment that keeps failing for an unknown reason...

:(

:( :( :(

80 people have looked at this post and not ONE reply???

Doesn't anyone use a compas anymore?

How am I going to learn to triangulate and all that neat stuff?

Well, I am by no means an expert so I will help best I can....

The bubble should not be a problem (it is formed when the outside plastic bezel expans faster than the liquid creating a vacum and thus a bubble....at least thats what Brunton says). According to the Brunton website a bubble will not cause any accuracy discrepencies.

But as for freezing....I have no idea why its doing that, nor how to fix it......sorry :eek:

Brian

Presumably you had a leak in the compass capsules.

Freezing should not be a problem and the size of the bubble can expand and shrink as the capsule expands and shrinks with the temperature.

I've had a Silva Ranger for over 30 years without problems. (The temp spec is -40F-- +140F.) I also have 2 small (.5--.75 inch) backups that have never had a problem.

But I did have a car compass develop a leak.

Doug

Last edited:
chinooktrail said:
Ok, in the last few years I have gone through 2 compasses. I have no idea why, but they both did the same thing. First they got a very large air bubble in them, and then they would freeze when I was hiking.

The first one was a Silva Ranger, the one I have now is a Suunto MC-2.