Putnam Pond,Treadway and Rock Pond

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

prino

Reaction score
I have decided to stay away from the High Peaks for a while during mud season and am planning to do a route around the Putnam pond area.
I have been reading up the routes in Barbara Mcmartins guide book for the Eastern adirondacks which goes into some terrific detail.
From the state campground we will take the trail south of Putnam pond then North and west up Treadway Mt.
Now, rather than return on the trail to Mud pond and Clear Pond I would like to know what the bushwacking is like to head over Big clear pond mt. and then over to Peaked hill which apparently is completely open on top. down to Rock pond which is supposed to be very beautiful with a neat Graphite mine nearby. Then return by the bear pond trail.
I have a lot of experience with bushwacking and map and compass work so don't mind a bit of a challenge in that department
Has anybody done this route or parts of it?
Thanks!

I have hiked the Pharaoh Lake Wilderness loop several times, but strangely enough I have never hiked Treadway Mountain.

In reference to your bushwacking question, I can't see how the forest would be too thick and overgrown, being mostly old growth (I think...) but I seem to recall many wet/swampy areas nestled in the valleys. The hike from the Treadway mountain trail to Big Rock Pond is not all that strenuous, and therefore doesn't take very long. I don't remember the mileage, or I'd be able to give you a better idea. Clear Pond is a gorgeous pond with a great rocky outcropping in front of the lean to, perfect for jumping off of into the water.