WMNF Trailhead Fees

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TEO

Reaction score
Caveat lector: I am not a lawyer; the following is my interpretation of the text of the law found on the USDA Forest Service website in the link below.

I would strongly encourage VFTTers to read the 2005 Federal Lands Recreation Enhancement Act (FLREA). The language is relatively straightforward and easy to understand. Note in particular, Section 3(f)(4). Section 3(d) & (e) also has relevance to us hikers.

It would seem to me that most White Mountain National Forest trailheads do not meet all of the criteria set out in Section 3(f)(4)(D):

(i) Designated developed parking.
(ii) A permanent toilet facility.
(iii) A permanent trash receptacle.
(iv) Interpretive sign, exhibit, or kiosk.
(v) Picnic tables.
(vi) Security services.

which, as I understand the law, means that the WMNF has no legal standing to charge fees at those trailheads.

The Lincoln Woods Trailhead does, to the best of my knowledge, meet all of those critera, except perhaps security services. If it did, it would, according to the FLREA, have the right to charge a fee.

The criteria set forth in Section 3(g)(2)(A) do not seem to be met by primitive campsites such as those found on the Gale River Road, so again, it would seem to me that the WMNF has no legal standing to charge fees for those campsites (and they may not, I haven't stayed there in years).

Other helpful Forest Service website links:

Summary of the FLREA

About

WMNF Passes

Last edited:
Moderator Warning
Keep politics out of this thread. Do not attack the poster; but you can rationally discuss the topic of the thread.

Hmmm... very interesting! I willingly pay my fee (or buy my pass) to be able to use the trailheads. But I write it off to helping to support the trails and the parking lot that keeps my car out of the way of traffic.