Camping at the Bluff

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ADK Pierz

Reaction score
I'm new to hiking in NH, and in a couple weeks I'm planning on doing a few of the Presidentials, and I'm wondering about camping. The 'Bluff', about 2.7 miles from Rt. 16, has been mentioned as a nice spot. We're thinking of hiking into that spot one evening, camping out, then getting up the next day to do Jefferson (via 6 husbands), then Clay, then Washington, then back to the Bluff. A couple questions:

- How is camping at the Bluff? Is it a good spot?
- How would parking be at the trailhead on a Sunday late afternoon, in July?
- Does that hike sound reasonable for someone in pretty good shape?

Any thoughts or comments would be much appreciated. I'm headed on a 8-day jaunt to ME, NH, and the Adirondacks in less than two weeks, and I can't wait.

We did this hike about 2 years ago. Instead of saying at the bluff however, we hiked to the wamsutta campsite. It was a really great time. The parking lot was ample from what I remember, and I wouldnt expect you have any problems parking there. The six husband's trail is quite steep, and very enjoyable. Over to Washington, and back down via Wamsutta makes it about 4300 feet elevation gain. Not a terribly hard day.

Camping at the bluff would probably be ok, but from what I remember it was pretty packed there. I like wamsutta, because there is a good water supply right in camp, as well as a very cold stream to wade in close by. Its a little more off the beaten path, and a little further in. The Bluff does have awesome views of Washington, if you are into that kind of thing.

Hope you have a great hike!

-percious

Trailhead parking won't be a problem.