Who does trail work?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

How many of us do actual trail maintenance?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Hillwalker

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
How many people on this site actually volunteer their time to maintain the trails they seem to love so dearly?

I'm not talking about picking up a candy wrapper or two, but spending hours clipping, cutting, chopping, sawing, digging and other sweaty work.

It will probably be 5 days this year (2 days on my adopted section of AT/LT, National Trails Day, Monadnock, and SRKG) but there's noplace to vote for that :)

Oh well, some of them were short days :)

This can vary year to year. some years AMC adopters need to have refresher training which adds another day or two.

My son logged in 15days this year on a spike crew...I could never do that, I work for a living.

Last edited:
simply don't have the time - lucky to get north once a month to hike.

Trail work is noble and all, and I am not proud to say I don't do it - but the reality is - I don't - rather spend the limited time doing stuff.

just being honest - but to I also do the minimal amount of yardwork possible as well.

I do at least 5 work days a year. The rest is administrative stuff, which I fit in here and there. Usually after everyone else is asleep.

But I didn't always do that. When I left my full time job to stay home with the kids, and work from home as well, then I decided that was a good opportunity to give back to the trails that I have enjoyed my whole life. Before that, I didn't feel that I had the time to volunteer.

I enjoy the work a great deal, but I don't know that I will always be in a position to have the time to do it. I just know that I can right now, so I do.