socks , socks , socks

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tb69wemt

Reaction score
A friend just sent me this link.

http://militarytimes.com/blogs/gear...he-sock-market-part-ii-the-reviews/#more-5916

Just so happens I had a 25 dollar EMS gift card given to me today also :rolleyes: So I purchased the top rated pair and can't wait to try them.
Everybody always talks about what boot is the best, but boots are only as good as the sock and insoles used (IMHO). I know sock technology has come a long way in the last few years, So what socks do you like best? I have been using different Smart wool versions for the last several years and recently tried some Eddie Bauer medium weight hikers(which are awesome) Good socks add miles to the day and preserve the feet and prevent hot spots and blisters. I am thankfully blessed with blister proof feet not having gotten one in at least 20+ years....probably just doomed myself:eek:

So opinions ...thoughts

Darn Tough socks are listed in the review. I noticed these at EMS in Burlington, VT in June.

I have been wearing Smartwool for the last 8+ years. One of the associates happened by while I was browsing and mentioned that she tried out the Darn Tough recently and said they were awesome.

I didn't purchase because I figured I'd wait and get them back home. Unfortunately, the EMS stores in/around Boston are carrying a minimal selection (more like the running versions). Haven't seen them elsewhere yet.

When I can locate them, I will pick up a couple of pairs and give them a go this fall. They are made locally (Vermont) and for that, I'll give them a chance.

Walmart will soon have their hunting socks on the rack. They are only available during hunting season. Get them while you can. Thick, comfy, warm and cheap...I mean cost effective. It's them or Alpaca hiking socks.