Mohonk sells 874 acres to OSI

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mikie

Reaction score
When I was a teenager (great many years ago), I worked for the Mohonk Mountain House on the grounds. More specifically, I was a trail maintainer and builder. During that time I became good friends with the owners (at that time, Keith and Dan Smiley). One of the big concerns for them was the taxes on the large parcels of land that they owned. There was always the concern that this magically land would end up in the wrong hands. They are now long gone, but their concern for future generations will now be protected. Mohonk Mountian House has sold 874 acres to the Open Space Institute. This land will forever be protected for future generations. I am still humbled by their ability to think so far into the future. For those who don't know, Dan Smiley was at the center of the creation of the 3500 club.

You can read more about the story here: http://www.timesunion.com/local/article/Mohonk-Mountain-House-owners-sell-land-to-Open-1624161.php

That's awesome!

Love the Gunks --- got me wholeheartedly into hiking on my first visit there some 26 odd years ago :)
(omg am I really getting THAT old??)

Anybody know how they fared Irene? The waterfalls must have been spectacular!

Not sure about the Mohonk Preserve but I think Minnewaska SP was closed for a bit...

Jay

Not sure about the Mohonk Preserve but I think Minnewaska SP was closed for a bit...

Jay

I wonder how footpaths like Gertrude's Nose and Blueberry Run fared? The last time I was there, parts of the Carriage Way were washed out and closed after a 100 year rain storm, IIRC-- that was five years ago. I can only imagine what Irene did!

Anyone have a map of the newly acquired lands, showing the relationship to the existing climbing areas? I searched, but could not find - the map on the OSI site is not useful.