Suggestions for meals while winter backpacking

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I've got a lot of experience being outside in the woods during all times of the year, 13 years as an Army Infantry Officer, Airborne, Ranger, Air Assault Training, and five\six years of hiking and backpacking in NE during all 4 seasons.

But as the winter approaches I've been wondering what others pack for meals while backpacking for several days in the White Mountains during the winter.

Any suggestions?

1) Buy one of these:

http://www.foodsaver.com/category.aspx?cid=87

2) Make a home-cooked meal, something 'saucy'.

3) Line a bowl with plastic wrap.

4) Make sure your bowl will fit easily inside the pot you use to boil water in (there must be enough room to completely cover your frozen meal with boiling water).

5) Pour your meal inside the plastic wrap, and wrap it up completely.

6) Freeze until it's not longer viscous, or too soupy. (This step may not be necessary if your meal isn't too soupy to begin with.

7) Take your meal out of the bowl, slide it into one of the plastic bags from t the FoodSaver, and remove the plastic wrap that it was in the freezer with.

8) Vacuum seal your meal.

9) Shape the meal into a round, flat 'ball" (see step #4 above) and put in a bowl. You are better to make two smaller meals than one big one, otherwise, it will take too long at cooking time.

10) Freeze the item.

When at camp:

1) Boil water.

2) Put your meal in the boiling water

3) In approximately ten minutes time, remove your meal from the water, and cut the top off.

4) Eat right out of the bag.

5) Laugh at your partner who is muddling his way through a carboard MountainHouse crap meal while you are enjoying a nice salmon and dijon cream sauce with green beans.

6) Lick spoon clean.

7) Use previously boiled water for herbal tea.