Mount Washington Observatory Summit Volunteer 1/19-25/12/11

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kevin Judy and Emma

Reaction score
Once again I have the privilege of being a volunteer for the Mount Washington Observatory. I've actually lost track of how many times I've been up to do this now, but I wouldn't say I was a veteran, more of an intermediate. I've been paired with another volunteer again and for the next 7 days we'll cook and clean here at the Obs for the crew and some occasional guests. Our trip here was delayed by a day. A normal shift change day is Wednesday for the crew and volunteers, but this Tuesday night a cold front moved in and brought with it plummeting temperatures, low visibility and steady winds above the century mark which made a snow tractor ride to the summit impossible. The peak wind gust was 129mph Tuesday night into Wednesday morning, but Thursday morning broke bright and clear, and although still pretty cold, nothing like the wind-chills which forced last weeks crew to stay an extra day on the summit.

_DSC0005.jpg

Our Destination

_DSC0048.jpg

Home for the Next Seven Days

_DSC0050.jpg

View West to Franconia Ridge

_DSC0063.jpg

Southwest to Mount Carrigain, The Osceolas and the Hancocks

_DSC0066.jpg

Looking Down the Long Arm of the Southern Presidentials

_DSC0079.jpg

Toasty

KDT

Last edited:
I'm so jealous! Do you get to post one of the observer updates on the site? How's the internet connection up there? They just installed a new land line recently if I'm not mistaken. What do you do on a daily basis?

@ Jacob

The volunteer program is open to all members of the Obs:

http://www.mountwashington.org/about/volunteer/