Globe article on hikers relying on GPS units in smartphones

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Was just about to post this article but it's already here - nice to see them encouraging people not to be stupid and to do a bit more thinking and planning ahead of time so we won't read about their rescue later.

I think it's important to emphasize that a smartphone with a GPS app is not the same as a GPS using satellites. I'm no expert on smartphones, and there are probably some models which have both capabilities, but my 'Droid does not.

We carry extra batteries for our headlamps, cameras, GPSes. I've started carrying an extra battery for my smartphone. You still need a signal, but without juice whether you have a signal or not is irrelevant.

Excellent article and happy to read that Olivia is on the bandwagon pushing "preparedness" and not being so dependent on one's cell phone.

I think the reality of what can happen on a hike is clearly demonstrated in an article such as this, and might carry even more weight than a simple list of items one needs to "be prepared". Reading this could very well make some potential hikers sit up and take notice of exactly what the recommendations are for "hiking safe" and how much you are placing yourself and your checkbook at risk when you choose not to.

One really does compliment the other.Olivia is a real voice making that connection for those who are not fully informed.

Very well written!

Say what?

It's unfortunate that the article is implying that "you need a signal" to use any of the GPS apps for smartphones - it's simply not true. There are many GPS apps with maps that can be used offline, just like a regular GPS. Just Google "offline GPS apps" - there are LOTS of them.

Here's just one:

Outdoors Navigator