Rainer Advice

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

giggy

Reaction score
No sure where I should post this - but here it goes. I am new to VFTT, but not to hiking/climbing. I am trying to plan ahead. I am planning to try for some bigger stuff out west like rainer or hood - eother this summer or next. I think I am ready to to go (with a guide of course). My experience lies solely in the whites. I have tried to do my own research I have heard that these peaks are anywhere from easy to the toughest thing out there. Subjective opinions of course. I personally feel I am good shape as I can easily blaze 8 to 12 miles in the whites in the winter in a day - I can carry the 40 pound pack, etc... I have the axe, crampons, exp and know how to deal with the weather. That being said - peaks are higher. Does anyone have experiencne on either of these - and how hard is it? Is anything in whites comparable? I would think -conditions in the winter in the whites are harsher - is this correct? I am trying to gage how similar the trip up rainer would be to say - a washington winter climb? How different? I know altitude will be a factor (unknown factor), Rainer is about 9000 feet gain in 2 days. I know I can do 4500 one day and 4500 the next in the whites, but how different would rainer be?

Basically, I am trying to determine how far off I am. - or close?

thanks for any advice