Advice for hiking Owl's Head this weekend (on Sunday, 8-19-12)

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeff&Henry

Reaction score
Heading up to Owl's Head on Sunday...I have a few questions about hike:

1) Curious -- anyone know how the rivers have been? I don't mind getting wet, but I'm hiking with my 10 year old...and I've never done the route before -- will he be OK crossing the rivers?

2) In the summer, is it best to stay on the marked trails or is the Black Pond bushwhack worth considering?

3) I saw a post that said the cairns marking Owl's Head Path were not there -- is the trail easily missed?

Thanks!

JW

http://waterwatch.usgs.gov/?m=real&r=nh
http://waterdata.usgs.gov/nh/nwis/uv?site_no=01074520

Shows the Pemi, East Branch, at ~250 cfps. You should be able to cross the brooks without danger, but possibly with some wading. I have read people cross without wading at about 110-120 cfps. Black Pond BW will involve no wading at this level of water flow.

If you are actively looking for the base of the slide, you should be able to find it. The trail will get kind of unused looking if you have gone too far.

Tim

1) Curious -- anyone know how the rivers have been? I don't mind getting wet, but I'm hiking with my 10 year old...and I've never done the route before -- will he be OK crossing the rivers?

2) In the summer, is it best to stay on the marked trails or is the Black Pond bushwhack worth considering?

3) I saw a post that said the cairns marking Owl's Head Path were not there -- is the trail easily missed?

Thanks!

JW
The marked trails require more stream crossings, but if you are not comfortable with whacking - you must make the choice. For Black Pond, you start at the pond at 1600'. Slowly gain elevation up to around 1750', and you will hit the trail with Lincoln Brook on your right. If you hit the brook before the trail, the trail will appear eventually.