Easiest/Hardest 4000 Footer?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrentD22

Reaction score
Ok there are rules for this thread! If you want to post your hardest 4000 footer you MUST also post your easiest 4000 footer (and visvs).

I have only completed 12 so far so I am no expert by any means.

My easiest was Mt. Hale. It was also my first. I stayed at Zeland Hut and the caretaker who I was friends with said "hey wanna bag a peak"? I had no ideas what he ment, but I was up for it. We climbed to it's wooded peak and he said "write this down, you only have 47 more to go". Now I've hiked several of the 12 that I've already done many times. So I will also start another thread titled "Best Winter 4000 and Best Summer 4000"

My hardest had to have been Adams/Madison in winter. It was a total white out. After getting a little lost after Adams 4 I found Mt. Adams and continued on to Madison. I was at the base of Madison and I could even see the rock I was trying to step on that was snow covered white with white snow blowing in my face at 70mph. I hoped to follow my foot prints back, but they had all vanished from the wind. All I had was a compass bearing and hope that I took it correctly! I'm sure it's a hard hike anyway, but all that made it a little bit more difficult.

I HAD TO EDIT THIS EMAIL BECAUSE I ACCIDENTLY WROTE IN JEFFERSON WHEN I MENT MADISON...

Last edited:
I have yet to hit all the 4k's, but from those I have done:

Hardest: South Carter
The many rough ups and downs between Middle Carter and South Carter really irritated an already tender knee. A lot of pain coming off the summit. I also couldn't find my second wind that day. :(

Easiest: First time doing Jefferson via Caps Ridge.
I had a ton of energy on this hike. The short distance from trailhead to summit also made this easier.

@Raymond: nice avatar. I love that show. :D
^MtnMike^

Last edited: