Recommendations for Strongest Collapsing Trekking Poles?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I bent the lowest segment on my Leki Malakus, but saved myself from a nasty fall up on the east loop trail of Mt Alander (Mass.). Ive straightened them out in a vise but the tube has a slight pinch --I dont think I can trust that pole again.

Anybody got an idea on what the strongest poles out there are?

I'm surprised you bent one. I've used a pair as ski poles for BC skiing or snowshoeing a few times (nothing too adventurous) and leaned on mine fairly heavily with no harm. No direct experience, but many of the people on telemarktips uses BD poles with the flick lock adjuster. Apparently that works better than the twist locks, so they say, anyway.

I have been using Black Diamond Alpine Carbon Cork poles for several years. They are all carbon fiber (no metal). They bend up to a limit, and once in a bad fall I broke a section but that was in thousands of miles of use. Yes, they are very durable and reliable. In the winter, they are not cold when carried in my hands, unlike alloy poles.

BD does not have the same generous replacement policy as Leki. You pay for replacements.

Last edited:
+1 on the BD Alpine Carbon Cork - broke one section on Mount Washington when I fell and the pole slipped between two large boulders, but you can order individual sections from BD's website at very reasonable prices. Used them for over a 500 in the Whites and then for 2630 more miles on the PCT and still going strong.

FYI - I saw MANY pair of broken BD poles with the new "folding design" (z-poles?) on the trail this summer.

No direct experience, but many of the people on telemarktips uses BD poles with the flick lock adjuster. Apparently that works better than the twist locks, so they say, anyway.