6 Tufts Students Rescued From Dry River

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RollingRock

Reaction score
Six students from Tufts University Mountain Club were rescued early Saturday morning after they took the wrong trail down Mt. Pierce and wound up lost in the Dry River Wilderness area.

Story posted by the Union Leader

None of the students were from around here. I wonder if they even carried a map?

We met them on Crawford Path going up and again on the summit. I suggested that they might want to try going down via the hut, as they had snowshoes on and the trail was partly broken. It unfortunately never occurred to me to warn them of two trails going down from the hut. I feel slightly guilty, since as a former Accidents Editor I know that almost every winter some hikers get lost in the Dry River, descending that way either accidentally or intentionally (it makes a very neat loop on the map).

Since all ended well let me share an amusing story about these kids. My hiking companion that day is 65 years old, and I am 75. As the kids passed us we wondered whether their combined ages were less than ours, and on the summit we found that their ages were between 19 and 20, so 6×19.5 is way less that 65+75 :)

We met them on Crawford Path going up and again on the summit. I suggested that they might want to try going down via the hut, as they had snowshoes on and the trail was partly broken. It unfortunately never occurred to me to warn them of two trails going down from the hut. I feel slightly guilty, since as a former Accidents Editor I know that almost every winter some hikers get lost in the Dry River, descending that way either accidentally or intentionally (it makes a very neat loop on the map).