Hunter Mountain -- January 29 (w/ possible SW Hunter bushwhack)

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dr_wu002

Reaction score
Hi Everyone:
For various reasons, I have decided to head out to the Catskills this weekend. And, since I haven't had much opportunity to hike there, I've made the obvious choice to do Hunter Mountain on Saturday. I'm posting this in hopes that someone(s) would like to join me for what I think will be a great winter day-hike.

I have a map and I've read up on the various trails but as of now I have not chosen any particular one for the winter ascent. I'm hoping anyone interested in going could chime in on a particular trail they like, or one they want to do. I have a time limitation -- I need to be out of the woods by around 4pm -- but I could be at the trailhead, easily, between 7am and 8am. I'm also hoping (I'm a newbie at it) to bushwhack to Southwest Hunter as well! That sounds like a lot of fun.

So, anyone that is interested, please reply here or PM/e-mail me. See you on the trails.

Regards,

Dr. Wu

Dr. Wu,

The Spruceton Trail, which is really an old jeep trail, is the easiest way to Hunter, but also, IMO, the boringest (is that a word??). The Becker Hollow Trail or up the Devil's Path from Rt 214 are both much more fun than the Spruceton Trail. But, since you have a time limit, maybe you'd rather take the fastest route.

(The trail thru Diamond Notch is real nice, too, but would make for a much longer approach.)

Wish I could tag along, especially since I still need SW Hunter, but once again family obligations are keeping me out of the woods. :(

Rob

Dr. Wu,