Nepal in October

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

erugs

Reaction score
Who here has been to Nepal in October?

I'm asking because I leave for there in a few weeks and am in the process of packing and have a few questions because I can't bring my "hiking gear room" with me:

1. Sleeping Bag - our gear list says -20 degree bag. I have a 0 degree bag and a liner. We'll be staying in tea houses, not tents. I can always through my down jacket over me if I am chilled? Right? or Wrong?

2. Jackets - Wind proof soft shell with hood (Gore-Tex). I have a Marmot Precip for rain. Will this do the job for this requirement? It's roomy enough of one heavier layer such as an expedition weight long sleeved top, but will that be enough? We are also asked to bring a down jacket.

3. Down Jacket - I have an 800 fill down "sweater" (no hood, no zipper cover) from EMS and also a Mountain Hardware "puffy" jacket that I purchased for a Rainier trip. Is one better than the other for tea-house treks to Base Camp?

4. Sleeping - I take Sonata for Chronic Insomnia at sea level. At what elevation might that be considered dangerous? I haven't been able to find any information on line about that.

5. "Favorite Snack Food" - can I purchase good quality trail mix in Katmandu?

Any other suggestions?

It was a long time ago (1995) but I did the Annapurna Circuit in October and the first week of November. Obviously the weather can be warmer or colder than normal, and where you go specifically can be quite different based on location and altitude, but what you're bringing sounds pretty good to me. We had some light snow at 14,000' a few nights and my 3-season bag was fine in a tea house with a blanket. Base camp (for Everest I assume) is higher, what's the highest you'll be spending the night? I'd bring whichever down jacket has a hood as it's more versatile.