Trail conditions in spring

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Framerman

Reaction score
I'm new to winter hiking this year. I started hiking last April-ish for the first time since I was 10 or so and have really got hooked. I didn't think that I would be winter hiking at all, but here I am doing just that.

On my way down today I was thinking of a hike I did about a week ago where it was above freezing and it got me thinking, exactly what happens to these trails when everything starts melting? Is it post hole city? Does it just get packed more and more? Something to avoid? Or embrace?

Sorry for the n00b question, I just don't want to get stuck in an unpleasant situation. I already had one this winter that just about squashed my desire to hike any more.

Last year I started during mud season, but it wasn't bad. Is it bad form to hike up muddy trails? Meaning erosion.

Late March, April and sometimes early May are in my opinion the crappiest time of year to hike. The rivers are high from melt so trails can become difficult or impossible to take (often very rapidly), snow is soft and "post hole friendly" and the monorail becomes exposed from the surrounding snow which can also be tricky. You also get a wide variety of weather conditions which requires carrying a lot of different gear to respond to the changes. The wide temperature changes also cause a lot of freezing and thawing so you conceivably run into every single type of trail condition from dry to underwater to frozen solid, all on the same trail. I personally don't care for it because you and your gear get absolutely filthy so I try to plan hikes in traditionally dry areas to minimize the mess.