What to pack for a winter day hike

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adirobdack46r

Reaction score
I think the replies to this thread will be many and varied. Everyone must have an opinion on this subject. I hike a lot in fair weather but never in winter so I'm looking for input from you veteran winter hikers out there. I want to be prepaired for most contingencies but not be carrying the kitchen sink. I'm looking for a basic pack list for going out on a winter day hike in the Adirondack high peaks. This subject has probably been discussed many times over but I'm new to VFTT therefore have missed any previous threads regarding this matter.

1. parka for rest stops
2. water bottle parka or store water bottle upside down so that the water around the lid doesn't freeze
3. spare gloves

I take along my heavy pack. I line it with a garbage bag. At the bottom, I have junk -- emergency stuff that I hope I won't need like a bivy sack, extra fleece, 2 pairs of extra socks, an extra head lamp etc. Then I have my parka on top of that. Then I have a bag filled with food. On top of that, the final layer, is bag with an extra set of gloves, mittens, hat, balaclava, face mask, goggles, hand warmers, glove liners, extra socks, and head lamp. Finally, on the top part is a separate compartment that has loose stuff like compass, (another) head lamp, batteries, toilet paper, formaldehyde, matches, some treats and so on. I also put the gatorade bottles upside down in their bottle parkas and attach those to the outside of my pack.

It's good to have everything very accessible.

-Dr. Wu

This is what I have on my winter day hike list that I don't have on my summer day hike list:

down jacket
crampons
snowshoes
emergency bivy bag
foam pad (a safety item, but also a good seat for lunch)
handwarmers
insulated bottle holder
thermos--filled with hot drink