Glamping in the Grand Tetons for the Eclipse!

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom Rankin

Reaction score
I'm headed to the Grand Tetons to watch the Solar Eclipse next month. We're staying in a tent, which has bunk beds and a wood stove, so it doesn't sound like roughing it too much. :rolleyes: (The only hotels near by were $600 / night! :eek: )

Has anyone stayed in or near the Park? Any recommendations on what to do?

I'm an amateur astronomer, so I'll be prepared with Eclipse glasses, cameras, binocs, etc.

P.S. The 4/8/24 Eclipse will pass over The ADKs, Northern VT/NH, and Kahtadin! Down side: April...

I have been to the area a few times over the last 30 or so years; never as a hardcore hiker, only as a tourist a little more willing to go off the beaten track. We have enjoyed the following: Snake River float trip, take the tram to the top of Jackson Hole Mountain Resort and hike off the backside around to the base, parasailing from JHMR, horseback rides out in the national forest and taking a ferry across Jenny Lake and hiking up into Cascade Canyon.

On 2 separate trips; we took the scenic raft trip early in our visit; both raft trips resulted in a number of good recommendations from both our guide and other tourists for places to eat and other things to do while in Jackson Hole and Grand Teton NP.

FWIW, our most successful visit to the area had us stay at the ski area in the condos at the base of the mountain; centrally located between the town of JH and the National Park. Reasonably priced, Kitchen, Laundry and close to decent restaurants.

I'm headed to the Grand Tetons to watch the Solar Eclipse next month. We're staying in a tent, which has bunk beds and a wood stove, so it doesn't sound like roughing it too much. :rolleyes: (The only hotels near by were $600 / night! :eek: )

Has anyone stayed in or near the Park? Any recommendations on what to do?