Hutmans Trail and Halls Ledge trail

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peakbagger

Super Moderator
Staff member
VFTT Supporter
Reaction score
I have been driving up and back RT 16 routinely since 1987 and for years have passed the small log cabin on the east side of RT 16 with the Hutmans trailhead sign right next to it south of the WMNF boundary. Despite driving by it many times I just never was that interested in hiking it as if was just 3 miles long. Frequently I have looked up at the southerly extension of the Wildcat Ridge south of the AT and wondered what sort of trail may be up there. From the road, the slope seems to be open hardwood with softwoods coming in as the elevation increases. I had heard of the Halls Ledge trail in passing but never really knew exactly where it was and definitely do not remember ever seeing a trailhead for it.