It's hot out! Do u still go hiking?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coldfeet

Reaction score
Just curious...does the heat make you cancel hikes?

This is my first year hiking and I never got to experience upper 80 degree weather.

Hiking thru Hell

It has never stopped me, but everyone is different. The older I get the more I like the heat. If you often find yourself suffering in heat then you should think about not hiking, or at least stay on hikes that are more in the forest.
Another thing to consider is hydration. some people are really bad at drinking enough. I have easily downed 5-6 liters on an 8 plus hour hike in opressive conditions. Everything you sweat out you need to replace!

I feel exactly the opposite. I hate the heat and especially the humidity. I love 40 - 50 degree nights when camping and if it gets above 75 degrees while hiking I know that it is going to be unpleasant. I still do it though. Just bring lots of water and ways to obtain it. :D

Keith

I'm not a big fan of super hot, humid hikes, but I wouldn't cancel a hike due to heat. As others have said, I'd be sure to stay hydrated. Also, pace myself so I don't blow a gasket. Starting earlier when the day is cooler and skipping full sun exposure in the afternoon makes a difference.

Coldfeet, with this weather I think you'll be changing your moniker :D

coldfeet said:
Just curious...does the heat make you cancel hikes?

This is my first year hiking and I never got to experience upper 80 degree weather.

Just did Wilson and Breadloaf in Vermont, and it was about 90 at the bottom. Of course, at the top it's a good bit cooler (but watch out for those bugs!!!).

I seem to remember it averages about 5.5 degrees (F) cooler per 1000 feet of elevation gain.