cc skiing

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kmac

Reaction score
I'm in the market to buy some cc skis and I have little to no knowledge of the differnent brands and "kinds" out there. I want something that can be used on both groomed trails and backcountry trails, is there a ski that can be used for both?
kmac

Kmac, I asked this question before and there are several discussions about this here. Also, look at telemarktips.com. I asked the same question there and so have other people.

Look at Pinnah's website-
http://home.comcast.net/~pinnah/DirtbagPinner/dirtbag.html
He has a lot of good info on choosing gear and helped me choose mine.
I bought a pair of Atomic Rainier bc skis. They are 88-60-78. Mine are 170 cm. They are full metal edge double camber, waxless skis. I put Voile 3 pin cable bindings on them, but you could put most anything on them-I'd stay away from a big tele binding though. I put my bindings on G3 15mm risers. My next purchase will be a release kit so I can try some downhill tele on them without tearing up my knees.

For boots, I have a pair of Atomic BC 50 boots. Like the BC 30, except taller I think. Mine were samples; they aren't for sale anywhere I know of. I've seen people (including ski patrol and park rangers) wearing Scarpa T2's and Garmont Excursion plastic boots for touring.

I'm no expert, but I like mine a lot. Not really floaty in powder-too narrow, but fine for most anything else. I've only used mine only a couple of times, including a four day camping trip to Yosemite towing a sled. I got climbing skins for mine-I highly recommend getting some-makes going uphill easy.

Fischer Rebounds are almost the same ski as the Rainier-same dimensions. Fischer also makes some wider skis under the S-Bound name-I think the Outtabound is a wider ski.

Hi KMAC,