Sugarloaf, 12/23

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Robs

Reaction score
Went up Sugarloaf. Attempted to find AT to go to Spaulding, but it was not easily found and the snow was WAY too deep to traverse anyway. If your hiking in this area, wait for the snow to pack unless it's pre-packed (think "ski slope"). I got there at 6:30, the base lodge was open for a bathroom. I was at the summit at 9:30 and down by 11:30 (these times are approximate, but close). The summit was really windy (Probably -10 with 40 MPH wind, so -43 with the wind-chill), the building up there was open but unheated; still nice to get out of the cold.

Sugarloaf proved to be a great proving/testing ground, since I'm fairly new to this winter hiking stuff. The staff are nice, never gave me any trouble, and were sort of curious. It's a fairly easy climb, and if you happened *ahem* to be wearing xc ski boots *ahem* and your feet get cold on the way up, because you thought they'd be insulated enough, you can stop at a lift shack to put heaters on your feat and thaw out your numb, frost bitten toes...

----------------------------------Equipment------------------------------
Anyway, as far as equipment:
I'm 200 pounds and I found that 25" MSR Lightning Ascent snow shoes are not big enough to support me on very loose snow... I don't think anything could have though, and they worked great snow that was thinner/more packed down. I also found that when it got too steep (I went up Hayburner, if you're familiar, and it wasn't groomed) the snow shoes really didn't grip in as much as I would have liked, and progress would be slow.
I used Grivel 10 point adjustable crampons on the way down, they worked really well, I really like them, and the anti-bolling on them works great.