Types of snowshoe binding, quality, reliability

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

local excursion

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm from Montreal QC, and this is my first post here.
I've been snowshoeing and loyal to my old snowshoes for a good ten years now. My lovely wife, who knows how much I enjoy my winter hikes (especially after a fresh snowfall), and after noticing how tattered my 10 year old snowshoes were becoming decided to purchase me some new snowshoes this past Christmas.

The reason I'm posting here is to solicit your opinion about snowshoe bindings. My old aluminum frame snowshoes had simple pull-strap type bindings, and with exception that I would occasionally step out from heel, I never had any issue with them ... very simple and reliable.

Of course in 10 years, technology changes, and I see my new snowshoes come equipped with a ratcheting type binding:

Tubbs.jpg

Would appreciate if some members here would provide opinion on this type of binding. Tubbs boasts of ease of use and comfort, but what I see is plastic buckles and small springs. I can't help but wonder about reliability of these bindings. Are they prone to breakage, or do they release prematurely in deep snow, or on the trail? Discussion is not intended to debate quality of the Tubbs brand name, rather the merits / disadvantages of ratchet type bindings (or other type of bindings for that matter).

Your comments and feedback appreciated
local excursion

In days of yore, bindings were basically leather straps (later neoprene) and connector pieces, took awhile to adjust the first time but then came off/on with one buckle leaving the others fastened. Switch to different-shape boots and go through the process again. If a strap cut or chafed through in the field, replace with spare strap or piece of string.