Advanced buttsliding

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skidoc22

Reaction score
All these threads about winter hiking are getting me thinking about new and different ways to get from one place to another in the winter. As I glissaded down Algonquin one frosty January day last year I came upon a couple with carrying small inflatable "butt sleds" for lack of a better term. I have no experience with these, but I wonder if anyone has used these for winter descents? The price is certainly right and they appear to be fairly light to carry. Any thoughts?

http://www.bobwards.com/bobwards/servlet/item/features/805610-01

swiss bob!

I used a swiss bob sled all last winter! They're fun and easy to maneuver.

swissbobsled.jpg

Mine is red!

-Dr. Wu

Tried a swiss bob before, but found you could go only so far before they stop dead. A cheap plastic sled will make the ride a little more interesting but are a tad more bulky. Bird and I used cheap plastic sleds until we found out about these suckas last year...a little bit heavier than a regular sled but you can ride em to the bottom without having to get up...they can carve, do tricks and fly!! Long live Mad River Rocket! :cool:
TheClassicLG.jpg

When I was a kid I had a sled similar to Wu's swiss bob.
It was red and had a single handle that came up between your legs with a little helmet type cap.
When you sat on it it looked like you had a big........... You get the idea.

I can't believe they sold such things (and my mother bought one). :eek: :eek:

Head said: