Allen to McDonnel to Skylight?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

albee

Reaction score
Hey ADK folks...

I am embarking on 4 days in the Daks to finish my 46 this weekend. 4 of the 7 peaks I have left are Allen, Gray, Cliff, and Redfield. I was hoping I could get all 4 of these on the first 2 days by taking the main herd path to Allen from Upper Works, then bushwhacking over McDonnel to Skylight and tagging Gray, then heading downhill to the Feldspar or Uphill Lean-to for the night. I would then do the usual herd paths to Cliff and Redfield, and back to Upper Works via Flowed Lands.

I have plenty of bushwhacking experience from New England, but I have never 'whacked in the 'dacks before. I understand there are significant blowdowns in many areas from Hurricane Floyd... I just wanted to run this route by any people that have tried it to get their thoughts. I saw that someone had posted a picture of the area on here once, but I can't seem to find it now.

Feel free to try to talk me out of this or suggest other routes. I can handle some pretty long days and I'm comfortable navigating off-trail. I'm hitting the road at 5 PM on Wednesday, so I need ideas quick! Thanks in advance...

P.S. Someone has also suggested going from Redfield to Skylight in order to tag Gray. Is this bushwhack worth the effort, or should I just drop my pack and take the long way around. I could care less about going up Skylight again - I have done it before and I'm looking for the most efficient route to do all 4 of these peaks.

Tom Haskins, we have a question only you can answer...

It’s a pretty steep drop off Allen, but I think it would be an even steeper climb up Redfield, so Skylight would probably be the way to go.

What about backtracking to the closed, supposedly blowdown-ridden Twin Brook Trail to Cliff? That could be easier going, although you’d miss McDonnell that way.