Favorite New York Mountain

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cloudsplitter

Reaction score
First let me say hello to all of the regulars on this site. I'm new to the world of VFTT, but most certainly not new to the outdoors. About eight years ago, college put me close to the Adirondacks, and I've been in the mountains or reading about them ever since. I currently work for an outdoor gear retailer, and I'm a certified gear geek, so if anyone is in need of suggestions please feel free to ask... (I am of course always open to suggestions about my own gear as well!)
Anyway, enough dribble from me...I must say that since I'm from upstate NY I'm a bit biased, but I was wondering if you all had a favorite New York mountain in the 'Dacks, Cats, or elsewhere...??? Any type of reasoning in the decision process will do...great view, a particularly memorable day, gorgeous woods, etc. I'll post my fav soon (still thinking about it), but in the meantime I always love to hear people's stories about the mountains that I'm so close to...Thanks all!

Haystack is my favorite. Fine views and a great hike in.I try to alternate approaches each time I climb it.From the Loj , and sometimes from Johns Brook. I think next time will be from Panther Gorge.

Algonquin

Algonquin is it for me. Incredible views towards Colden and Marcy (and Wallface as well) I've been up it 8 times and have enjoyed every minute of the climb up and the views from the top:) Some may claim that it is too crowded, but I'd say that you rarely run into that problem unless you do it on a weekend during the summer months.

BirdHead Studios

Dix. In part because it was the first high peak and has the first slide I climbed, and part because my favorite river, the Bouquet, flows off of its slopes.